The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Inspiration: I Want to Lift My Hands Toward the Sun

… It’s a little too cold for that, these days. This is an oddly positive song. The first few times I ever listened to it I thought it was sad, but when you really listen to him saying if the morning never comes again he’ll still consider himself blessed to have ever touched the sun? That’s an absolutely unreal level of acceptance.

And couple this with the fact that we’re talking about the sun and it’s frigid? Yeah. I’m pretty inspired.

I climbed to the top of a hill
But I had just missed the sun
And although the descending arc was gone
Left behind were the traces that always follow along

dusk
The most beautiful colors chase the sun
They wrap her trail in a taunting gesture
That seems to sing out loud
“This is what you’re missing”
I’ll endure the night
For the promise of light
I want to lift my hands toward the sun
Show me warmth
Baby, won’t you show me warmth again?

sunsetAnd when I can feel with my sun hands
I promise not lose her again
And even if the morning never comes
My hands are blessed to have touched the sun
I’ll endure the night
For the promise of light
And when I can feel with my sun hands
I promise not to lose her againsunhands

So you could view this as a sad, desperate song about trying to grasp at what’s not there and being taunted by what you don’t have/can’t get OR you can think of it as a sad truth that things go away/are hard to get, but that you can still see opportunities on the horizon. The world isn’t ending just because you missed a chance. The fact that you ever had a chance is a blessing to you.

Sun Hands — Local Natives (AKA my current obsession)

This entry was published on January 23, 2013 at 5:07 pm. It’s filed under Change, Free Spirit, Growth, Life, Love, Music, Music Inspiration, Open-Minded, Personality, Positive, Thinker and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

