The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Giving Thanks with 20 Songs

I won’t be focusing on the conventional and obvious answers for this post, because I think it goes without saying that I’m thankful for my friends, family, position in life, security, etc.

Today I’d like to say that I’m thankful for music. In case you’ve not caught on yet, I really dig tunes.

This year has had many ups and downs, just like any other year. And in many ways I’m thankful for music. Here are some of the reasons why I’m glad music exists and some examples of what I mean.

.

.

Reason 1: Helping Me Forget What’s Stressing Me Out

Examples:

One of the Best Zeppelin Songs Ever

The Black Keys (I very much regret not going to their NYE show

when no one would go with me)

Red House

.

Reason 2: Letting Me Remember the Past

Examples:

Bonnaroo highlight

Crossroads highlight

Zac Brown Band – Toes

.

Reason 3: Reminding Me of the Important Things

Examples:

Gary Clark, Jr.  – If You Love Me Like You Say

Hallelujah

.

Reason 4: Getting Me Through Some Sticky Situations

Examples:

Foo Fighters – The Pretender

Cat Stevens – If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out

.

Reason 5: Teaching Me Important Lessons

Examples:

Don’t Write People Off

Get the Heck Over It, Already

.

Reason 6: Whipping Me Into Shape

Examples:

Pretty Lights – I Know the Truth

Incubus – Vitamin

.

I’m not a very musical person. I don’t know scales, I gave up on piano years ago, and I cannot master my harmonica. But music is my most important possession. If there were a fire I’d save my laptop just for the music. If I went deaf I’d lose my mind.

So thanks, music, for helping me express, understand, accept, forget, motivate, etc.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

This entry was published on November 24, 2011 at 10:50 am. It’s filed under Life, Music, Music Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks with 20 Songs

  1. awesome post! Thank you for sharing with us.

  2. Thanks a heap for this post, glad to see there are still some excellent writers around the web!

Leave a Reply

