The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

It’s Not Who Breaks the Ribbon, Boy, It’s How You Get Across

Whew! It’s been a little while since I’ve done one of these. I’m kind of laughing at myself today, because I think it’s a day where the world is against me. And I’m normally the type that will silently crumble under the day’s stress.

But not today. I have what I can only compare to beer muscles today. It’s like I can do anything I set my mind to, but I have no idea why.  I actually can be quoted as saying, “I WILL make today my b*tch” this morning.

So John Butler Trio is my muse today.

I can be loud, man, I can be silent
I could be young, man, or I could be old.
I can be a gentleman or I can be violent.
I could turn hot, man, or I can be cold.

I could be just like the calm before the storm, boy
Waiting for all hell yeah to break loose.
I could be innocent or I could be guilty
Doesn’t mean that I won’t believe in no noose

So I’m singin’…

I could be rich like a wandering Gypsy
I could be poor like a fat wallet lost.
I could be first, man, or I could come last
It’s not who breaks the ribbon, boy, it’s how you get across.

I could be red, blue, black, or white sunset
Darkest at day, boy, or brightest at night
I could be the sun, boy, or I could be the moon
I’m made up from the stars, boy, I’m shining so bright.

So I’m singin’…

It's not confirmed, but I may actually be the King of the World today.

I could be asleep, boy, or I could be awake
I can be alive, man, or be the walking dead
I can be ignorant or I could be informed (Yes sir)
I could lead my life, man, or I could be led (That’s right)

I can be anything I put my mind to, boy
All I gotta do is give myself half a chance
I can bring love back into my life
And share it with the world if I got some balance

So I’m singin’…

^ and good GOSH I love the bejesus out of this video.

^^ that’s a real word!

Take that, September 21! Flat tires and hangovers can’t keep me down.

This entry was published on September 21, 2011 at 11:18 am. It’s filed under Life, Movies, Music, Music Inspiration, Struggle, Weird and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “It’s Not Who Breaks the Ribbon, Boy, It’s How You Get Across

  1. Pingback: Friday Dance Party: Livin’ In the City | The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Leave a Reply

