The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Rediscovery on the Southside of Heaven

I talk all the time about music prompting some of my most vivid memories. This song just came up on my Spotify and I feel like I was just wrenched backward into a hot, sweaty, dusty space where I managed to zone out and tune in at the same time.

What’s funny is, I have a distinct memory of this concert. It was Sunday afternoon and I was exhausted at this point in the festival; I was too tired to freak out that my skin was red and my hair was yellow. We were all happy for some shade under the That Tent canopy, and our friend John was excited about Ryan Bingham. I knew Drive-By Truckers, but not Ryan Bingham on his own, and I was just focused on not napping.

Like 3 songs in, I realized I was next to a middle-aged man rockin’ his little heart out to this song, and I stifled a laugh at how goofy this guy looked for dancing so intensely to a relatively slow song, then felt bad about judging him and decided to pay more attention to the music. By the end of the set the music had taken me over.

pic from brokenmic.com

When I die, Lord, oh won’t you put my soul up on a train
Won’t you send it southbound, give it a cool bluesman name
Cause I’ve been lost out on those back roads so many times  I’ve gone blind
Losing faith in my family had driven me right out my damn mind

But on the south side of heaven won’t you take me home
Cause I’ve been broke down for so long and Lord, it’s getting cold

Well I’ve been a desperado in West Texas so long, Lord I need a change
For ten long years this old place ain’t seen a drop of rain
And that wind blows everyday Lord, oh like a desert snow
Like a lost bound train running on cocaine and out of control

But on the south side of heaven won’t you take me home
Cause I’ve been broke down for so long and Lord, it’s getting cold

Long down them Louisiana byways, lonesome highways roll on
Won’t you take me where the poor man lives it’s where I call home
And can’t you see that a breeze, nothin’ but a change in pace
Money can’t buy my soul cause it comes from a hard-earned place

But on the south side of heaven won’t you take me home
Cause I’ve been gone for so long and Lord, it’s getting cold

But on the south side of heaven won’t you take me home
Cause I’ve been gone for so long and Lord, it’s getting cold

That's Right. I took that beauty.

So have a listen:

My hair definitely started out the same color as hers...

I just can’t wait for next year.

This entry was published on August 26, 2011 at 1:12 pm. It’s filed under Change, Life, Music, Music Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

