The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

You Run and You Run: The Pink Floyd Inspiration

Hello and Happy Hump Day! 

The week is halfway over and it’s time to re-energize and start thinking about productive things again. This morning I would like to discuss with you my love of Pink Floyd and how it inspired me last night. 

Firstly, I’ve always had a strong preference for The Dark Side of the Moon. What that says about my fan status, I’m not sure. Some people claim that the deepest fans of Floyd love The Wall the most, buuuut that’s not me(in fact, I even prefer Wish You Were Here to The Wall). Some people say that those who like Dark Side are just stoners and wannabe rock fans, and I am neither. I’m in a weird minority, then, according to people I have met. 

So, I was listening to the album last night and chillin out when Time came on (my second favorite, just beneath The Great Gig in the Sky). And it clicked in my head very quickly that Time is describing my life at present. 

Pink Floyd’s “Time”, Live in ’72:

Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
Fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way
Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town
Waiting for someone or something to show you the way
but it’s sinking
Racing around to come up behind you again
The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death
 

Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain
And you are young and life is long and there is time to kill today
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun
 

And you run and you run to catch up with the sun,  

Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time
Plans that either come to naught or half a page of scribbled lines
Hanging on quiet desperation is the English way
The time is gone, the song is over, thought I’d something more to say…
 

And I freaked out. Because it’s me. I’m stuck. I’m in my hometown waiting for my future to happen, and I’m being too stupid to realize I have to do this for myself. And I don’t WANT ten years to come up behind me because I missed my chance.  

IN SHORT I am inspired. I won’t let myself get in the way of my future. Onward hoe! The only question now is…  

can I use Pink Floyd as one of my references?? 

“We all fight small battles between the positive and the negative in our everyday lives, and I’m obsessed with truth and how the futile scramble for material things obscures our path to a more fulfilling existence. That’s what DSOTM is about. And despite the rather depressing ending with Brain Damage and Eclipse, there is an allowance that all things are possible, that the potential is in our hands.” 

-Roger Waters 

Rock On. 1973. DSOTM Tour

This entry was published on October 6, 2010 at 8:42 am. It’s filed under Career, Life, Music, Struggle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

