The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

“We are not the same persons this year as last; nor are those we love. It is a happy chance if we, changing, continue to love a changed person.”

I’m feeling so nostalgic these days. Maybe it’s the shift into Fall, or the fact that I’m officially done with school and rarely, if ever, see people I had classes and dorm space with.Maybe it’s that my memories are starting to fade.

It makes me wonder why some people progressively fade from our lives. William Somerset Maugham probably had it right with that quote.

I say today we honor the memories of our past. The good ones, not the bad. Think of the fondest memories you have of the people you used to talk to. I vow to not be sad that I don’t talk to my old dorm mates. I will not be upset that I rarely see any of my close friends because of our work schedules.I can remember these times and smile. And tomorrow I will move forward with my life again, happy to know that these people whom I have grown away from are probably thinking the same thing.

I’ll post a few memories here, and get excited for the next time we encounter each other down the road.

FYI I’m on another Ray LaMontagne kick, and I’m like 90% sure that Winter Birds is making me sentimental.

This entry was published on October 5, 2010 at 4:51 pm and is filed under Change, I'm OLD, Life, Music, Struggle. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

