The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

The Long, Hot Summer: at the Silver Screen

Greetings to you all.

It’s been entirely too long. The internship, work, and life away from a computer have been so distracting that I’ve ignored this little blog I’ve got going.

Let’s talk movies first, eh?

1. Inception – I will not give a single thing away

First off, a good showing from Leo D. He’s just wonderful as always, earning overtime as the number one spot in the celebrity men I would marry list. He’s quickly moving up my list to Paul Newman status.

Deep in thought. And looking fine in flannel.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt gave another great performance, showing his versatility as an actor and also proving himself yet again as the underdog. Plus the whole revolving-room-with-wires-and-no-special-effects fight was really awesome and stands in my memory with the first time I saw The Matrix lobby showdown. Except better.

"I'm skilled and attractive. Everyone will now know my awesomeness". That's not a real quote.

Marion Cotillard is a favorite of mine. She was graceful as ever in this flick, convincing me all over again that if ever I could be a French woman, I’d aspire to be her.

I hear a generalization that French women are unstable. She looks quite in control to me!

Ellen Paige was really good, also. I’m not exactly her biggest fan; She was great in Juno, but after that I started seeing every character as a little caricature of that same, entirely too sharp-tongued, quick-witted Juno girl. Because really, people aren’t that ON all the time, you know? But she toned it down. Much more serious. And I liked the change of pace.

No pithy dialogue here, guys!

Last, and not least to me is Mr. Tom Hardy. I’ve been a fan of him for a long time, as seen in previous posts. Like I said, in March I saw him perform a play in the city and was super excited. He was pretty awesome in this one. He has that dry humor thing down pat. I’m just so eager for him to make it big in Hollywood, so I can see more movies with him in it!

I'm delicious. See all my movies!

As for the movie itself, I think it was really amazing. The plot was smooth, they weren’t TRYING to trick you, and it was great post-movie conversation. Charlie and I got all twisted around in the dream-within-a-dream at the end of the movie. Plus, how BA is it to be a gun wielding hotshot in someone else’s dream, but never have to risk your actual life?? AMAZING, like I said.

I just got back from a Birthday camping trip. I am 23 years young, and it feels fabulous.

As I said in the beginning, I’ve been spending a lot of time away from (most) technology. I’ve been riding my little beach cruiser all over the neighborhood in search of peace and prettiness.

In short, life is good. I’ll be talking to you again soon, no worries 🙂

This entry was published on July 20, 2010 at 10:53 am. It’s filed under I'm OLD, Life, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

