The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

All Hail the Underdog(s)!

So this morning I woke up and realized I have this affinity for the celebrity “underdog”. I use quotations because the fact that they are celebrities means they are in no way an underdog. But for various reasons I feel these people are not always fully appreciated/struggling to succeed, mostly due to the roles they play. Here are some of my favorites:

Giovanni Ribisi (My favorite underdog)

He always plays the underdog, and he's subtle. I like that. Plus you don't see his face all over the place, which I appreciate.

Shia LaBeouf (Strikingly similar to Mr. Ribisi, I think)

He's admitted being a bit starved for fame; his character is always the funny underdog.

Johnny Depp: Real-Life underdog

Self-inflicted underdog in real-life. And only before Pirates. After that he really can't claim UD status.

Ryan Gosling

He's always sort of desperate in every role. Even the happy ones. But it's not super obvious, which is awesome.

Paul Newman

Speaking of always having desperate characters, here's the king. He perfected the role of a broken man. I don't even know which one I'm talking about, because every great role he had was suffering. Stunning.

Owen Wilson

All of his characters (that I've seen) are funny, but it's just covering up sadness. And that just makes me like him more.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt

10 Things I Hate About You, 500 Days of Summer... he's an underdog.

I haven’t gotten to the girls yet, but what are your suggestions?

This entry was published on May 23, 2010 at 4:18 pm. It’s filed under Movies, Weird and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “All Hail the Underdog(s)!

  1. Pingback: The Long, Hot Summer: at the Silver Screen « The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

  2. Pingback: Feel Good Mondays: Natural-Born World Shaker | The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Leave a Reply

