The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Have I talked about my Emotional Sponging?

Really, though, have I? There is this problem I have where I’m sort of susceptible to the pain of the world. I really easily relate to the feelings of others and often adopt the same mood. It’s like sympathy pains, in the extremes. And now this March is challenging me!

I saw two deeply depressing things in the last week. I’d like to talk about those so that maybe tonight I won’t be stuck with sad thoughts as I go to bed.

Saturday was my sister’s birthday (yay Emily!) and we went to the Goodman Theater for a play called “The Long Red Road”. It’s directed by Philip Seymour Hoffman:

Philip Seymour Hoffman

Ah, yes… THAT guy.

Anyway, he directed this play in Chicago, and my sister wanted to go so that was her birthday present. She said something on the way downtown about Debbie-Downer, but I wasn’t paying much attention. Then we sat down and I looked through the Playbill and had a little Junior High-NSYNC-style fit because Tom Hardy was playing the lead.

Delicious.

Okay, but aside from him being delicious he’s an EXCEPTIONAL actor and I loved him in Rock’n’Rolla. And then to find that he was the main actor a mere 30 feet away (and 20 ft down) was AMAZING.

The main issue in this play as my sister explained briefly was that Hardy’s character is an alcoholic with a 13 year old girl. Drama.

Uh…. They also decided to throw 85 other plot details in there that I was not aware of. My expectations were a dysfunctional family trying to get through a man’s alcohol addiction. Let’s try this on for size PLOT SPOILER:

Sam (father) crashes a car and kills one of his twin daughters (oh, and crushes his wife’s legs to the point of amputation). He then gets out of the car and runs off. FAST FORWARD. Nine years later he’s living on a Native American reservation being a drunken fool. 12 hours away his older brother is living/sleeping (well, he wishes but not so much these days) with Sam’s wife. His now 13-year-old daughter is blossoming and wishing she had her daddy around. MINI fast forward>>>>> Sam gets drunk, his gf calls Bob (older bro), who apparently is having “thoughts” about his niece. They drive out to Arizona(?) to see him/drop her off/bring him back. He drunkenly refuses, but bonds a bit with the daughter. They leave. HER UNCLE RAPES HER. SAM DIES. SHE BURNS DOWN A BARN.

Depressing. FYI: In the play they say The Long Red Road means being sober. According to Manataka American Indian Council:

To walk the Red Road is to know sacrifice, suffering. It is to understand humility. It is the ability to stand naked before the Creator in all things for your wrong doings, for your lack of strength, for your uncompassionate way, for your arrogance – because to walk the Red Road, you always know you can do better. And you know, when you do good things, it is through the Creator, and you are grateful.

Now, today Emily (two for two here, Em) asks me to watch Precious. Somewhere in my naive little head I thought this movie was about a girl who’s momma doesn’t like her, she’s poor, and she wants to be a singer.

This was SUCH a sad movie. How can I even explain it? I mean, it had a happy ending but I STILL can’t get it out of my head. I had no idea (and this is apparently widely known) that she’s been raped by her father and has his child. It’s depressing that these things actually happen.

To lighten up this whole thing, I also had my goddaughter’s 4th birthday. It was Minnie Mouse themed, which was a delightful throwback and infinitely better than an iCarly party.

The bow "completed" the outfit

Yeah... my sister's like Martha Stewart when it comes to bday cakes.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

This entry was published on March 25, 2010 at 11:31 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Have I talked about my Emotional Sponging?

  1. Pingback: Feel Good Mondays – Bubbles and Guitars « The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

Leave a Reply

