The Blonde One Was Called Freedom

We Owe It All to the Hippies

Hmm… let that sink in a bit.

If you still think that’s crazy talk, consider the source of that quote: TIME magazine, circa 1995. I was reminded of that quote when reading an article that Third Coast Digest had a few years back, which still rings true today. I’m particularly fond of #25.

I stumbled across the article during some research I’ve been doing. As of July, I will endeavor to only buy clothing made from organic/sustainable materials. Intrigued by this? Here’s an example of how a company can do that. It’s pretty nifty.

It’s just a small way for me to feel like I’m making a difference and doing something I want to do. There’s not a lot of space in life to do the things we want anymore, and we need to cherish the little ways we can. That should be on that list. The hippies knew how to take their time and fulfill their own wishes.

Who was it that said, “The 60’s are gone, dope will never be as cheap, sex never as free, and the rock and roll never as great….”? Ah, Abbie Hoffman.

This entry was published on June 6, 2012 at 9:24 am. It’s filed under Change, Dreams, Free Spirit, Hippie, Life, Open-Minded, Positive and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment